Now is Time to get ‘Barbarian’ on Your Competitors

When I was in college at U of M, one of my favorite movies to watch with my housemates was Conan the Barbarian. picture-611 Our favorite line was when the Mongol General asks what is the best thing in life, one soldier answers incorrectly and then Conan (played by Arnold Scwarznegger) responds, “To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentation of the women.”

I feel this way about my entrepreneurial adversaries (though I don’t subscribe to ‘the lamentation of the women’ part — perhaps I’ll change that to ‘the lamentation of their vendors.’)

But it really is a good time to be crushing your enemies in the commercial space. In the last few weeks I have begun to notice a sentiment of resignation over 2008.

Most people I talk with just want the year to end quietly (many are staying home for the holidays). I have been on the phone a lot the last few weeks regarding my startup and pushing hard to get as much done as possible as we close out our beta offering (the 2008 fantasy football season). We have come across much malaise.

Apparently, I am not the only one interested in pouncing on the marketplace right now. Jeff Cornwall cites others who feel now is a great time to go on the offensive (‘to crush your enemies, see them driven before you….’) while others are licking their wounds or hiding out.

From Cornwall’s post:

There are many new opportunities out there. Don’t believe only the bad news you keep hearing about the business climate. Because for those willing to take the plunge, there are fewer competitors in the market and the cost of doing business is going down.

So if you are a new venture, keep pushing hard, and if you are considering a launch, don’t wait. Many of your adversaries are most weak and tired (both physically and psychologically) and waiting to be crushed.

Leave a Reply

